What do I need to bring to class? You will need to bring your handgun of choice (if you have one), a holster that attaches to your belt or paddle type holster, 50 rounds
of factory ammunition (no reloaded ammunition), eye and hearing protection, and wear clothes that you do not mind getting dirty or wet.
What if I do not own a handgun? You may still take the class. We rent handguns for $15.00/ day plus ammunition. We recommend if you do not currently own a handgun. you
do not rush out to buy one as many people buy one that does not fit their needs or abilities and then must buy another after taking the class.
Is my permit limited to the handgun I qualify with in the class? No, your CCW Permit is similar to your drivers license in the sense that you drivers license allows
you to drive any car. In the same respect, the CCW Permit allow you to carry any handgun concealed on your person.
What are the requirements to obtain a CCW Permit? The first step to obtaining a permit is to take the basic concealed carry class. Upon completion of the class you
will receive a certificate of completion which you must submit to the LA State Police Concealed Carry Division along with a notarized application, fingerprints, and fee. Once the La State Police
complete the backgound check, you should receive your permit. We do provide a notary onsite at a discounted rate for your convenience. We will discuss this in detail the day of your class
What types of handguns may be used in this course? Any handgun, semi-automatic or revolver, in good working order. Please ensure your firearm is in good working
order PRIOR to class.
What if it is raining the day of the course? The course will be held rain or shine. If weather is too severe to complete the live-fire portion of the course, we
will reschedule the live-fire portion for an alternate day.
How much does it cost to obtain a permit? Currently, the State of Louisiana charges $125.00 for a 5-year permit. This is in addition to tuition for this course.
After 5-years, the state requires a refresher course prior to renewal.
I'm a veteran. Do I need to take the course? If your DD-214 shows you received small arms training within the last 60 months, you do not have to take this course.
However, you must realize military laws vary considerably from civil laws and as a CCW Permit holder you are responsible for civil law. Civil law governing CCW permits are discussed extensively in
this class. If you received anything other than an honorable discharge, you are not likely to get approved for a permit. For additional information on this, please contact the La. State Police
Concealed Carry Division at 225-925-4867.
What if I have a CCW Permit from another state? Check with that state to determine what they require you to do with the permit. Most likely you will need to return
it as it became invalid as soon as you moved out of state. You must be a resident of Louisiana for 6-months and take this course as a prerequisite prior to applying for a new permit in LA even though
you had a permit in another state.
How old do you have to be to take this course? Anyone old enough to handle a handgun may take this course, however you must be 21-years of age to apply for a CCW
Permit. Individuals under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent who is also taking the class.
What if I need to renew my existing permit? If you took your original class with us, you will attend a short update and requalify with you handgun. The renewal
class typically lasts from 11 AM to approximately 1 PM. However, if your original class was not taken with us, we have no way of ensuring the information in your original class was complete
information and therefore we require you to take the entire 9 hour class and you will need to be here at 8 AM.
Are reservations required? Yes, reservations are required. Due to limited seating, your reservation will not be confirmed until we receive your $50.00 deposit. Once
your deposit is paid, the deposit is non-refundable unless the class is cancelled (see scheduling a class). If the class is cancelled for unforeseen circumstances or not enough
participants in the class, you may either select another date or request your check be returned to you. All deposits should be mailed to 51005 Hwy 445, Loranger, La. 70446. You may begin your
registeration by completing the form below and clicking submit.
Your form message has been successfully sent.
You have entered the following data:
Registration Form for Concealed Carry Class
Please correct your input in the following fields:
Error while sending the form. Please try again later.